Skip to main content

The Early Years Foundation Stage

We deliver the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to children between the ages of 0 and 5 years.  The EYFS underpins all future learning and is divided into seven areas of learning and development:-

Prime areas:                       

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development

Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts & Design

All teaching is delivered through practical activities and structured play.  Parents/carers are closely involved in their child’s learning and are asked to inform staff about their children’s interests.  Children's progress is monitored  on a regular basis to enable accurate plans to be made for future teaching and learning.  Staff work in liaison with other teachers in the foundation stage, including colleagues in private and voluntary settings and in local FS2 classes.

Please visit the link to help you as a parent/carer find out more about how your child is learning and developing during their first five years, in relation to the EYFS.